Francis To Chair Roanoke Regional Chamber

John Francis

The Roanoke Regional Chamber of Commerce, Western Virginia’s largest business organization, has elected officers and directors for 2012. John Francis, Jr., executive vice president of First Citizens Bank, has been elected chair. Other officers are: Dan Motley, Norfolk Southern Corp., chair-elect; Ken Lanford, Lanford Brothers Co., past chair, Barry Henderson, SunTrust Banks, vice-chair membership; Harvey Brookins, Wells Fargo, vice-chair economic development; Melinda Chitwood, Brown, Edwards & Company, treasurer; John Parrott, Rutherfoord, vice-chair at large; Vickie Bibee, Scott Insurance, vice-chair of public policy; and Joyce Waugh, Roanoke Regional Chamber, president and secretary.

New members of the 2012 Board of Directors are: Garry Norris, Express Employment Professionals; Ted LeNeave, American HealthCare; Jonathan Hagmaier, Interactive Achievement; Tamea Woodward, EastWest DyeCom/Global Metal Finishing; Scott Hodge, AECOM; Roger Elkin, Hall Associates; Steve Strauss, Strauss Construction; Ryan Patterson, BB&T, Backbone Club representative; Betsy Head, Home Instead Senior Care, and Leonard Wheeler, Wheeler Broadcasting.

Continuing to serve on the board are: Steve Cronemeyer, Verizon; Beth Doughty, Roanoke Regional Partnership; Greg Feldmann, StellarOne; Bill Figaro, Grow, Inc.; Victor Giovanetti, LewisGale Regional Health System; Nancy Oliver Gray, Hollins University; Landon Howard, Roanoke Valley Convention & Visitors Bureau; Joe Jones, Appalachian Power; Penelope Kyle, Radford University; Todd Leeson, Gentry Locke Rakes & Moore; Sean Luther, Downtown Roanoke, Inc.; Michael Maxey, Roanoke College; Thomas L. McKeon, Roanoke Higher Education Center; Joe Miller, E.J. Miller Construction; Jeff Parkhill, Hughes Associates Architects; Sarah Powell, Advance Auto Parts; Ken Randolph, Rockydale Quarries Corp.; Robert Sandel, Virginia Western Community College; Kay Dunkley, Virginia Tech; Watts Steger, Bank of Botetourt; Wayne G. Strickland, Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission; and Chad E. Sweeney, Roanoke County; F.B. Webster Day, Spilman Thomas & Battle, PLLC; Dale Lee, RGC Resources, Inc.; Curtis Mills, Carilion Clinic; Todd Morgan, MB Contractors, Inc.; and Todd Putney, Medical Facilities of America.

The Roanoke Regional Chamber of Commerce was established in 1889 and has over 1,200 members in 42 localities.