Eagle Scouts


Seven Boy Scouts who have achieved scouting’s highest advancement honor were recognized at an Eagle Scout Court of Honor recently.  Lucian Grove III,  Matthew Higgs,  Benjamin Mullet,  Benjamin Ries,  Yates Sayers,  Kemper Steffe, and Winston West IV received their Eagle Scout Badges at the ceremony at Greene Memorial United Methodist Church.

All seven scouts are graduating seniors at Patrick Henry High School and The Roanoke Valley Governor’s School. Grove, Ries and Sayers are members of Troop 17 from St. John’s Episcopal Church and are led by Scoutmaster W. Patton Coles, IV.   Higgs, Mullet, Steffe and West are members of  Troop 210 from South Roanoke United Methodist  Church and are led by Scoutmaster  J. Richard Hancock.

To earn the Eagle Scout rank, a scout must fulfill requirements in the areas of leadership, service and outdoor skills.  He must earn at least 21 merit badges, and complete an eagle Scout Leadership Service project which requires significant effort.  Only about 5% of all Boy Scouts in the United States earn the prestigious Eagle Scout rank.